Department Presentations at 2019 AANS

2019 AANS

Pittsburgh, April 18, 2019 -- University of Pittsburgh Department of Neurological Surgery faculty and residents participated in a number of clinics, seminars, presentations and lectures at the 2019 American Association of Neurological Surgeons Annual Scientific Meeting, held in San Diego, April 13-17. The theme for this year's meeting was "The Science of Practice."

Saturday, April 13

003 You Are Never Too Old for Surgery: Spine Management in an Aging Population
Practical Clinic
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Director: Nathaniel P. Brooks
Assistant Director: Andrea L. Strayer
Faculty: Paul A. Anderson, Darryl J. Dirisio, Darnell Twain Josiah, Ajit A. Krishnaney, Vincent J. Miele, Karen Petronis, Laura Ellen Prado, Sharad Rajpal, Daniel K. Resnick, Shelly Schmoller, John H. Shin, Michael Patrick Steinmetz, Suzanne Audrey Tharin, Eve C. Tsai, MD, Eric J. Woodard.

008 Neurotrauma and Neurocritical Care for the Practicing Neurosurgeon: MOC Review and Update
Practical Clinic
8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Assistant Director: Philip Andrew Villanueva
Faculty: Perry A. Ball, Thomas Pritchett Bleck, Peter John Hutchinson, Joshua Eric Medow, Daniel Bernard Michael, David O. Okonkwo.

014 Neurosurgical Care of Athletes: Concussion, Spine, Peripheral Nerve and Return-to-Play
Practical Clinic
1:00 – 5:00 p.m.
Director: Allen Kent Sills
Assistant Director: Mark E. Oppenlander
Faculty: Tim E. Adamson, Joseph Charles Maroon, Michael McCrea, David O. Okonkwo, Robert J. Spinner.

021 Latest Breakthroughs for Meningiomas: Surgery vs. Radiosurgery
Practical Clinic
1:00 – 5:00 p.m.
Director: Michael W. McDermott
Assistant Director: Aaron A. Cohen-Gadol
Faculty: William T. Couldwell, Ian F. Dunn, MD, Paul A. Gardner, James K. Liu, Basant Kumar Misra, Bruce E. Pollock, David Raleigh, Philip V. Theodosopoulos, Javier Villanueva-Meyer, A. Samy Youssef, Gelareh Zadeh.

Sunday, April 14

025 Introduction to Cerebrovascular Neurosurgery for Residents
Practical Clinic
7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Director: Mandy Jo Binning
Faculty: Adam S. Arthur, Geoffrey P. Colby, Jason Michael Davies, Amir R. Dehdashti, Christoph Johannes Griessenauer, Bradley Gross, Jay U. Howington, Peter Kan, Justin Robert Mascitelli, J Mocco, Christopher S. Ogilvy, Paritosh Pandey, Robert E. Replogle, Dimitri G. Sigounas, Raymond Dwight Turner IV, Erol Veznedaroglu, Brian P. Walcott.

028 Case-Based Management of Traumatic Brain Injury
Practical Clinic
7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Director: Jack I. Jallo
Assistant Director: Ryan S. Kitagawa
Faculty: Gregory W.J. Hawryluk, David O. Okonkwo, Wellingson SIlva Paiva, Haejoe Park, Uzma Samadani, Emily Sieg, Martina Stippler.

030 How to Apply to Residency
Practical Clinic
7:30 – 11:30 a.m.
Director: Michael Edward Ivan
Assistant Directors: Edjah Kweku-Ebura Nduom
Faculty: Owoicho Adogwa, Nitin Agarwal, Manish K. Aghi, Nicholas M. Barbaro, Joel Beckett, Shakeel A. Chowdhry, David Lee Dornbos III, Seunggu Jude Han, Pamela Stuart Jones, Benjamin C. Kennedy, Kimberly Price Kicielinski, Ricardo Jorge Komotar, Debraj Mukherjee, Khoi Duc Than, Stacey C. Wolfe.

031 Complication Avoidance in Intracranial Surgery
Practical Clinic
7:30 – 11:30 a.m.
Director: Anil Nanda
Assistant Director: Gregory J. Zipfel
Faculty: Paul A. Gardner, Carl B. Heilman, Satoshi Kuroda, Elad I. Levy, Michael J. Link, Akio Morita, Nelson M. Oyesiku.

033 Controversies, Complications, Indications and Advances in MIS Spine Surgery
Practical Clinic
7:30 – 11:30 a.m.
Director: Praveen V. Mummaneni
Assistant Director: Adam S. Kanter
Faculty: Kai-Ming Fu, Paul Park, Khoi Duc Than, Michael S. Virk, Michael Y. Wang.

Developments in Neurosurgery Using New Techniques with Advanced Visualization Technology
11:40 a.m. – 12:35 p.m.
Speaker: Amir R. Dehdashti, Paul A. Gardner, Daniel Hangg

038 Spinal Alignment: Cervical to Pelvis...What EVERY Surgeon Needs to Know; With Case Discussions
Practical Clinic
12:30 – 4:30 p.m.
Director: Regis W. Haid Jr.
Assistant Director: Christopher I. Shaffrey
Faculty: Domagoj Coric, Adam S. Kanter, Paul Park, Juan Santiago Uribe.

040 Update on Tumors for the General Neurosurgeon II: Skull Base, Pediatric and Spine Tumors
Practical Clinic
12:30 – 4:30 p.m.
Director: Michael J. Link
Assistant Director: Manish K. Aghi
Faculty: Jeffrey N. Bruce, Franco DeMonte, Ian F. Dunn, Fred Gentili, Ziya L. Gokaslan, Ian F. Pollack.

International Symposium - Session VI: Neurotrauma
1:42 – 4:30 p.m.
Moderators: Rocco A. Armonda, Daniel Bernard Michael, David O. Okonkwo.

Monday, April 15

110 Management of Adult Scoliosis
Breakfast Seminar
7:00 – 9:00 a.m.
Moderator: Robert F. Heary
Panelist: Peter Douglas Angevine, Tyler Robert Koski, Frank La Marca, Praveen V. Mummaneni, David O. Okonkwo.

Concussions and CTE: Personal Reflections and Perspective
Chuck Noll Lecture on Neurotrauma
2:33 - 3:03 p.m.
Speaker: Joseph C. Maroon

Tuesday, April 16

205 Skating to Where the Puck Will Be: Strategies for Neurosurgery Practices and Programs to Compete in Health Care's Future
Breakfast Seminar
7:00 – 9:00 a.m.
Moderator: Robert M. Friedlander
Panelist: James M. Ecklund, Jeremy Todd Phelps, Ann R. Stroink, John E. Ziewacz.

2020-21 Van Wagenen Fellowship Award Presentation
10:59 - 11:02 a.m.
Recipient: Ezequiel D. Goldschmidt

Changing Medical Practice Through Proven Clinical Outcomes
1:40 – 2:25 p.m.
Speaker: Brian Jankowitz

Advancements in Neurotrauma Care
2:30 – 6:00 p.m.
Director: Marianne E. Langlois
Assistant Director: Christi DeLemos
Faculty: David O. Okonkwo, Vishad V. Sukul, Ross D. Zafonte.

Abstract Presentations

Endoscopic Endonasal Approach for Craniopharyngiomas with Intraventricular Extension
Hanna Algattas

Does an AVM varix affect obliteration and hemorrhage rates after stereotactic radiosurgery?
Nima Alan

The Management and Outcomes of Isolated Interhemispheric Subdural Hematomas Associated with Falx Syndrome
Daniel TonettiWilliam Ares, David O. OkonkwoPaul A. Gardner

Validation of an Extrinsic Compression and Early Ambulation Protocol after Transfemoral Diagnostic Cerebral Angiography: A 5-Year Prospective Series
Daniel Tonetti, C. Ferari, J. Perez, Alp Ozpinar, AJ Jadhav, Tudor Jovin, Bradley GrossBrian Jankowitz

[See the complete online program for the meeting on the AANS website.]