Pitt Residents Elected to AANS YNC

Pittsburgh, September 1, 2021 -- University of Pittsburgh neurosurgery residents Hussam Abou-Al-Shaar, MDNima Alan, MD; and Ali Alattar, MD, have been elected to the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) Young Neurosurgeons Committee (YNC). They join fellow current residents Hanna Algattas, MD, and Prateek Agarwal, MD, and residency program graduates Nitin Agarwal, MD; Daniel Tonetti, MD; and Michael McDowell, MD, on the YNC, establishing the University of Pittsburgh as the most represented institution on the committee.

In addition, Dr. McDowell—currently serving a pediatric fellowship at UPMC Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh—was elected to vice chair of the YNC for 2022-2024.

The Young Neurosurgeons Committee provides a channel for young neurosurgeons to impact the direction of neurosurgery and helps develop future leaders of the field.

Hussam Abou-Al-Shaar, Nima Alan, Ali Alattar, and Michael McDowell