John J. Moossy, MD

  • Professor
  • Director, Center for Pain Management
  • Chief, Neurosurgery, VA Pittsburgh Healthcare System

John J. Moossy, MD, joined the faculty of the Department of Neurological Surgery at the University of Pittsburgh in 1986. He is now chief of neurosurgery at the Veterans Affairs Pittsburgh Healthcare System.

He attended medical school at Tulane University, earning an MD degree in 1980. He completed a surgical internship and the residency program in neurosurgery at Duke University. Prior to that, he was an undergraduate student at Wake Forest University in Winston Salem, North Carolina, and at the University of Pittsburgh.

His clinical practice is one of general neurosurgery with a special interest in the surgical management of medically intractable pain. Dr. Moossy’s publications include 32 articles in refereed journals and nine book chapters.

Dr. Moossy's publications can be reviewed through the National Library of Medicine's publication database.

Specialized Areas of Interest

The surgical treatment of intractable pain problems through neuro-augmentative and neuro-ablative procedures.

Board Certifications

American Board of Neurological Surgery

Hospital Privileges

Latrobe Area Hospital
UPMC Presbyterian
UPMC Shadyside
Veterans Affairs Pittsburgh Healthcare System

Professional Organization Membership

Allegheny County Medical Association
American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS)
American Medical Association
Carroll F. Reynolds History of Medicine Society
Pennsylvania Medical Association
Pennsylvania Neurosurgical Society
Section on Pain of the AANS/CNS
Section on Disorders of the Spine & Peripheral Nerves of the AANS/CNS
Section on History of the AANS/CNS

Education & Training

  • BA, French, University of Pittsburgh, 1976
  • MD, Tulane University, 1980
  • Residency, Neurosurgery, Duke University, 1986

Honors & Awards

  • Best Doctors in America, Pittsburgh Magazine, 2014-17
  • Department of Neurological Surgery, Resident Teaching Award, 2001-03
  • Rudolph Matas Prize in History of Medicine, 1980