Department Honors 2019 Chief Residents

A special black-tie graduation reception and dinner was held Saturday, June 16, at the Pittsburgh Golf Club honoring 2019 chief residents William Ares, MD; Stephen Johnson, MD; W. Christopher Newman, MD; and Christian Ricks, MD, on their successful completion of the University of Pittsburgh’s seven-year neurological surgery residency program. The event was attended by more than 100 faculty members, colleagues, family and friends.

Following graduation, Dr. Ares is headed to the NorthShore University Health System in Chicago; Dr. Johnson has accepted a position as assistant professor with the Rutgers Medical School Department of Neurological Surgery; Dr. Newman will be serving a neurosurgical oncology fellowship at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York; and Dr. Ricks has accepted a position as assistant professor with the University of New Mexico Department of Neurological Surgery. 

Annual teaching awards were also announced at the dinner. Dr. Newman was selected as the best resident teacher as chosen by department faculty and Edward A. Monaco III, MD, PhD, was announced as the best faculty teacher by the residents.

With the graduation of Drs. Ares, Johnson, Newman and Ricks, residents Amir Faraji, MD, PhD; Ezequiel Goldschmidt, MD, PhD; David J. Salvetti, MD; and Benjamin M. Zussman, MD, will serve as chiefs for the upcoming year. 

As the department honored its graduating residents, it also took the time to welcome four new residents—Ali Alattar, MDHansen Deng, MDJoseph Hudson, MD; and Andrew Legarreta, MD—at the PGY-1 level and Hussam Abou-Al-Shaar, MD, at the PGY-2 level.